Vegan Airport Travel Survival Guide

Greetings from 35,000 feet!

While it isn’t impossible, it can be difficult to find food at the airport and in-flight if you are vegan. Most of the time, you are relegated to the snack section at Hudson News, a soggy hummus wrap, or having to pay for an overpriced snack box where you can only eat a few of the items. Your best bet is to just make the little bit of extra effort and pack yourself some snacks.

Here are some of my favorite travel snacks:

20120426-081121.jpg

Lara Bar
Billed as “The Original Fruit & Nut Food Bar” they come in a variety of flavors. Made primarily with dates, they are 100% real food, no added sugars and one bar is the equivalent of 1/4 cup of fruit. While the majority of the flavors are vegan, there are a few that aren’t due to a certain kind of chocolate chip that is used. However, all are gluten-free!

Dried fruit and nuts
Always a great idea for any traveller, a selection of dried fruits and nuts is a great way to make you feel full without eating something gross, like fast food fries. Dried cranberries, apples, bananas, mangoes, pineapples as well as raw cashews or almonds are my faves. The particular brand of mangoes I have for this trip are sliced, like an all natural fruit roll up!

Primal Strips
Can we say vegan beef jerkey?! These things are THE BOMB! I have tried other brands of vegan jerkey and was traumatized by the texture… It was like a soggy dog biscuit. Not Primal Strips! Made from seitan, shiitake or soy, they pack a whopping 10 grams of protein per package. They are gluten-free, cholesterol free and freaking awesomely delicious. They come in flavors like hickory smoked, mesquite lime, teriyaki (my personal fave), Texas BBQ, hot & spicy, and Thai peanut. I’ve tried nearly all of them! They also make for fantastic pre/post gym snacks.

Sweet And Sara
A snack arsenal isn’t complete without a little sweet indulgence! You might remember these delicious little morsels when I wrote about the 2012 Vegetarian Food Festival. Sweet & Sara produces vegan marshmallows and marshmallow treats such as peanut butter s’mores and rice crispy treats. You can find them at Whole Foods and other natural food markets. Rumor has it that they are starting to pop up in Duane Reade’s around NYC!

Tofurky Sammies
Lastly, I’ve got two lovely sandwiches made with Tofurky and Veganaise. Along with my Eco-friendly sandwich wrapper, this meal has very low environmental impact compared to a typical deli sandwich produced with meat. Oh, and it’s super yummy, too!

20120426-081028.jpg

What are your favorite vegan travel snacks?

8 thoughts on “Vegan Airport Travel Survival Guide

  1. Thank you!!! As a “vegan in training” this is one area that I was absolutley baffled about handling. Now, not only am I looking forward to my next trip to the friendly skies, but I’m also hungry. LOL Better go get me some of those Primal strips to try out! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Agreed! As a long time vegan, its second nature for us now to pack foods for trips. I love the Primal strips as well. Cliff bars are also great.

  3. Pingback: Primal Strips Vegan and Sometimes Gluten Free Jerky « roodonfood

  4. This is great, I am newly vegan-ish (I have not cut out all bread and I know some have milk) and travel 2 – 3 weeks out of a month. I have quickly figured out that I need to start packing my own snacks, love your ideas. I had no idea there was a vegan jerky and will most definitely try that.

    • Happy to have helped! ๐Ÿ™‚ That is my goal. Congrats on becoming newly vegan! I highly recommend the Primal Strips – you can order them online. Plus – packing all your food ends up being much cheaper. Win/Win!

  5. I’m a big fan of hummus for travel (not a soggy wrap from concessions) but have been dinged more than once by TSA for bringing a container of it along. Moral: make your own hummus sandwich/wrap to bring, or face a hummus-free ride.

    • I have the same worries about Vegenaise (I’m weird and prefer to put my condiments on right before I eat my sammiches)… But in fear of losing my Vegenaise altogether (and the super cute little jar I usually bring it in) I always ‘naise before I fly!

Leave a comment