Vegan Like Me No. 3

Vegan Like Me aims to profile fellow vegans, from all walks of life from everywhere in the world!  We’ve all been beginners and I think its important for folks to hear people’s stories in order to motivate themselves to keep going. This feature is intended to do just that.  If you are vegan and would like to participate, get in touch with me and I’ll be sure to send our questionnaire along to you.

Name:  Laryssa Wirstiuk

Laryssa, Vegan for about a year

Where do you live?  Jersey City

How long have you been vegan?  Vegan for about a year, vegetarian about two years

What inspired you to take on a plant-based (vegan/vegetarian) diet?   My best friend throughout high school and college was vegetarian; I respected her decision to abstain from meat, but I never fully understood it. Never once believing that I could be vegetarian, I picked up Jonathan Safran Foer’s “Eating Animals” on a whim because I’m interested in food-related issues and admire him as an author. The book surprised me and inspired me to try vegetarianism for as long as I could. Almost two years later, I still abstain from animal products. This fact still surprises me.

What do you love most about being vegan?  I love that becoming vegan forced me to open my mind about new ways to prepare food. A fiercely creative person at heart, I’m challenged by the task of finding and creating delicious meals among people who mostly eat meat.

What three items do you always have in your pantry?  Chickpeas, veggie broth, rice.

What is your favorite vegan comfort food?  Ramen from Souen Noodle in the East Village.

What advice would you give to someone who is thinking about taking on a plant-based (vegan) diet?  First, rid yourself of any preconceived notions you’ve ever had about vegans. The more I meet other vegetarians and vegans, the more I realize that they really don’t fit any kind of mold. Next, decide what kind of vegan YOU want to be. Reinvent the lifestyle according to your tastes and preferences. Remain open-minded and cultivate reverence for food.

Do you find anything difficult about being vegan?  Being vegan is hard when I’m craving a particular dish or snack, but I’m somewhere that’s not very vegan friendly. Last weekend, for example, I was really craving a soy or almond based smoothie while out and about with my boyfriend. We found a few stores that sold smoothies, but either they used milk or they couldn’t even tell me what their smoothies contained.

Any other comments you or words of wisdom you would like to add?  I’m a creative writer and writing teacher who also does food writing for Jersey City Independent and NEW Magazine. Check out my blog about writing and creativity at www.craftyourdrafts.com or follow me on Twitter @ryssiebee!

Thanks so much, Laryssa!  “Eating Animals” made a huge impact on me, as well.  In fact, I recommend it on my Resources page.

One thought on “Vegan Like Me No. 3

  1. Pingback: Jersey City Vegan Encourages Meat Eaters To Ponder Dietary Habits, Consider Local Veg-Friendly Restaurants – The Jersey City Independent | Jersey City Christian Radio

Leave a comment